Museums in Argolida

Home > Museums

Museums in Argolida. The hidden treasures of the city

The long and rich history of Argolida is reflected in the archaeological sites of the prefecture and is displayed in the high-level exhibitions of the numerous museums of Argolida. The Archaeological Museum of Nafplio with the oldest and most well-kept panoply of Dendra, the Archaeological Museum of Epidaurus which attracts thousands of tourists from Greece and the world each year, the Archaeological Museum of Argos which exhibits findings from excavations in the ancient Agora, the Theatre and from elsewhere. Finally, the Natural History Museum in Ligourio constitutes one of the few and highly remarkable museums.

panoplia_dendron

Archaeological Museum

The Archaeological Museum is accommodated in the imposing in size as well as strict in symmetry, stone-built Venetian structure which covers and encases the central, Syntagma Square on its west side. It was first built in 1713, during the second reign of the Venetians, under the Naval Proveditore Augustine Sagredo to be used as the navy’s depository, according to the marble inscription fitted on the building’s frontage, written in Latin. It is widely acknowledged as one of the best well-preserved Venetian structures in the whole of Greece.

The permanent exhibition spreads along two halls of the same facade, within the building’s two floors and is then historically divided into several themes, from the remotest pre-historical exhibit to the period of antiquity, demonstrating the walk and the mark of every civilization setting foot in Argolida Prefecture.

The exhibit regarded the remotest in history here, is a Paleolithic cluster of altars (hearths) from the “Klisouras” gorge rocks or boulders in Prosymna. (32.000-21.000 BC). The findings of the cave “Fragthi” in Ermionida attest to the transition from hunter-gatherer to productive economy.
Also, the exhibition presents stone and bone utility tools, shells and bones of animals and fish, jewelry made of shells, bones or stone, the first Neolithic pot-made jugs-vases along with a number of figurines resembling humans and animals, made of clay as well.

Info:

Address:
Syntagmatos Square, P.C:21100, Nafplio
(Lat: 37.5660663338289, Long: 22.796287536591876)

The exact location of the Museum can be tracked in the section: Map

Τel.Number: 27520 27502

Visiting Hours:

Tuesday-Sunday: 8:30-15.00

Χρήσιμες συμβουλές:

Πολύ κοντά στο μουσείο υπάρχει ένας τεράστιος πλάτανος στη σκιά του οποίου μπορείτε να αράξετε και να απολαύσετε τη δροσιά του, εάν ταξιδεύετε στο Ναύπλιο τους καλοκαιρινούς μήνες.

Στον πλάτανο εκεί θα βρείτε και μια υπέροχη καφετέρια, από τις πιο διαχρονικές της πόλης.

museum_argos

Archaeological Museum of Argos

The museum of Argos comprises two sections, the “Kallergeion” Hall, built in 1832, and a new wing, added later. In April 1932, the heirs of J. Kallergis donated the building to the Municipality of Argos, which in 1955 also offered it to the Greek state in order for it to be converted into a museum. The erection of the new wing was undertaken by the French School of Archaeology at Athens, under the direction of the Russian architect Formin. The “Kallergeion” Museum was inaugurated in 1957 and the new section in 1961. The Museum contains finds from the excavations conducted by the 4th Ephorate at Argos and the surrounding areas, ranging from the Middle Helladic (ca. 2000 B.C.) to the Late Roman period (600 A.D.), finds from the excavations of the American School of Classical Studies at Lerna (Myloi), dating from the Neolithic until the Mycenaean period (5000-1100 B.C.), and finds from the excavations of the French School of Archaeology at the Ancient Agora, the area of the Theatre of Argos (ranging from the Archaic to the Roman period), and the Mycenaean cemetery of Deiras.
The most important items of the exhibition are: Bridge-mouthed jug. The shape of the vase is of Minoan origin. It was found at Lerna and dates from the Late Helladic period (15th Century B.C.). Phi-shaped figurine representing a “kourotrophos”, a woman feeding a child. Figurines of this type have been found in graves and settlements of the Mycenaean period (14th – 13th Century B.C.).

Info:

Address: Argos, 21200, Argolida
Working days-hours: open: Tue-Sun, 8:30-15:00 (winter)
Working days-hours: Tue-Sun, 08:00-19:30 (summer), Mon: closed
General Admission: 2€
Tel: +302751068819

hotelsargos.gr-istoria kai politismos-arxaiologiko mouseio mukhnwn

Mycenae Museum

The Archaeological Museum of Mycenae is located at the entrance of the ancient site, close to the Lion Gate. It was completed in 2003 and it covers a spacious area that consists of three levels and only two rooms are used for the actual exhibition. The collection includes ceramic, pottery, statues, wall frescoes and jewellery pieces of excellent designs. In one of the rooms you can see a copy of the Golden Mask of Agamemnon, found in the Treasury of Atreus whereas the original mask is held at the Archaeological Museum of Athens. The museum presents more than 2000 exhibits from the ancient site of Mycenae and its surroundings. It is also worth mentioning that the museum is a perfect model of the ancient site of Mycenae and visitors can have a slight taste of its brilliant history or journey back in time. Source: www.greeka.com

Info:

21200 MYKINES , ARGOLIS , GREECE
Tel.: +30 27510 76802, 76585 , Fax: +30 27510 76801
URL: http://odysseus.culture.gr/h/1/gh151.jsp…
Opening hours:
01Apr – 31Oct Tue-Sun, 0800-2000
01Apr – 31Mar Mon, 1200-2000
01Nov – 31Mar Tue-Sun, 0800-1500

ARXIOLOGIKO-MOYSIO-EPIDAVROY


Archaeological Museum of Epidaurus

Epidaurus is one of the most important places in Greece, with a strong archaeological legacy and cultural heritage. It is famous from the antiquity for the numerous ancient constructions, the presence of ancient sites and its famous ancient theater, unique in the whole world. In close distance to this world wide monument and the sanctuary of Asklepius lies the Archaeological Museum of Epidaurus. The museum hosts a lavish collection of ancient findings that cane to light during the excavations. Among the exhibits that are displayed in this great museum are the building inscriptions and hymns many of them related to the sanctuary of Asklepius, the most important sanctuary in ancient Greece. In other exhibit rooms you can see columns of the temple and other architectural parts and roman sculptures. The museum is divided in three rooms and the first one hosts a large group of ancient medical instruments that are related to the sanctuary of Asklepius. The second room is filled with statues and colonnades of the sanctuary. Finally the third room is dedicated to the some temple parts including this of Artemis and its pillars. Fossils that were found in Epidaurus are also a fascinating exhibit that you can see at the museum along with some ceramics, pottery and other small items.

Info:

21052 ASKLEPIEION OF EPIDAURUS , ARGOLIS , GREECE
Tel.: +30 27530 22009, 22666 , Fax: +30 27530 22009, 23234
URL: http://odysseus.culture.gr/h/1/gh151.jsp…
Opening hours:
01Apr – 31Oct Mon, 1300-2000
01Apr – 31Oct Tue-Sun, 0800-2000
01Nov – 31Mar Tue-Sun, 0800-1530

laografiko_idryma

Folklore Museum “Vasileios Papantoniou”

The Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation “Vasileios Papantoniou” of public benefit was established back in 1974 and is located in Nafplio. Its primary aim is the research, study, demostration and conservation of the Hellenic cultural activity. It is located on King Alexander’s 1 street and has been awarded with the European Museum of the Year Main Award (EMYA) in 1981. The year 1999 was the time that the Foundation celebrated its first quarter of the century birthday, in an unforgettable ceremony. The newly presented exhibition “The Best of PFF” (Peloponnesian Folklore Foundation) aims at demonstrating the depth and wealth of the foundation’s collection, which numbers more than 27.000 different items. Since 2006, the exhibition entitled “Hellenic Urbanism: Nafplio 1822-1922” has opened its curtains in the already renovated interior of the foundation. Prepared to be a permanent exhibition, it mainly encompasses urban Nafplio and the peripheral regions.
The ground floor stages heterogeneous or promiscuous museum items, which have been placed in a very bold and modern way, to stress the polymorphic attitude of the collection of the foundation. The above way was sporadically presented in Nafplio back in 1999 up to January 2006, and naturally in “Ptichosis” cultural demonstration for Olympic Games 2004.

Info:

King Alexander 1, St, Nafplio, P.C:21100, Argolida Prefecture

(Lat: 37.565738920891995, Long: 22.800278663635254)
The exact location of the Museum can be tracked in the section Map

Telephone Number: 27520 28947
Mail: pff@otenet.gr

mouseio_fusikhs_istorias

Kotsiomitis museum of natural history

The “Kotsiomiti Museum of Natural History” is located in the village Ligourio of Argolida in a distance of 5 km from the ancient theatre of Epidaurus. It was founded by Vasileios N. Kotsiomitis & Anastasia Sarri-Kotsiomiti in 1993. By its establishment and operation, the Museum intended to add its own page in our country’s cultural activities. It is a nonprofit institution, (Decision Number 1401 Ministry of Culture /GNOS/ 53605/22.10/2001 Common Ministerial Act). It is administered by a seven-member Board of Directors recruited by scientific experts in the fields of Geology, Paleontology, Mineralogy, and Physics. It inaugurated its operation in June 1995 under the name “Natural History Museum of Asclepius Epidaurus”. In 2006 it was renamed in “MUSEUM KOTSIOMITI of NATURAL HISTORY ” and the same year it was reseated in a new building, provided by the Municipality of Asclepius, whereas to facilitate the exhibition of more exhibits and additional collections. Since its foundation, the Museum cooperates with expert scientists from the University of Athens, the Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki, the Institute of Geology and Mineral Exploration as well as other scientific bodies, and thus the identification, the classification and the dating of its exhibits bear scientific validity. It provides a full guided tour to its visitors. The latter can admire the approximately 6.000 exhibits, mainly minerals and fossils, shells, insects etc, out of the 22.000 that the Museum possesses. It is recognized as the biggest thematic Museum in minerals and fossils throughout Greece, and offers special exhibits that capture the interest of its daily visitors and of the global scientific community. Its collections are considered unique in Greece and among the richest in Europe. Some of the exhibits are unique world widely. The ammonites’ collection of Epidaurus which distinguishes the Museum is considered as the most completed in the world. The purpose of its founders is its further advancement, enrichment and constant operation as an active institution of research, education and culture.

Info:

The advancement and the prosperity of the Museum, are financially dependent upon the admission fee.

OPENING HOURS : Tuesday to Sunday 10:00 a.m to 16:00 p.m.

Closed: every Monday

School and organized groups visits’ may be organized even out of the regular opening hours.

The persons in charge shall call in advance to book the date and time of the visit for the best service and tour of their teams.

Tel: 27530-22587, 27530-22588 FAX: 27530-22588

ADMISSION:

General admission fee: 2 Euros

Fee for Students, Groups, Large families and Teachers : 1 euro

Free entrance for disabled persons- soldiers and children of preschool age.

Χρήσιμες συμβουλές:

Μπορείτε να προμηθευτείτε αυθεντικά, μοναδικά, αναμνηστικά δώρα εκατομμυρίων ετών, που κατασκευάζονται και διαμορφώνονται στο εργαστήριο του Μουσείου όπως: (δείγματα ορυκτών, κρυστάλλων, πετρωμάτων, απολιθωμάτων, μικρές συλλογές πετρωμάτων, μικροκατασκευές ορυκτών και απολιθωμάτων) σε πολύ χαμηλές τιμές βοηθώντας έτσι στην διατήρηση και ανάπτυξη του Μουσείου